Like most U.S.states, New York has imposed laws requiring auto insurance to be carried on any registered vehicle in the state. Auto insurance is put in place to protect individuals in an accident, and it is important to know what you must have on your vehicle to stay legal. Proof of auto insurance must be presented at the time of vehicle registration. The minimum requirements set forth for liability insurance in New York are 25/50/10. This means that the auto insurance company will pay these amounts in the event of an auto accident.
A minimum coverage amount of $25,000 in Bodily injury protection is required. This amount is the amount the auto insurance company will pay for one person injured in an accident. $50,000 is the maximum amount for bodily injury if two or more people in the accident are injured. Property damage coverage must include a minimum of $10,000. The auto insurance company will pay for up to $10,000 in property damages caused by an accident.
In addition to Bodily injury and property damage coverage, drivers must also have a uninsured/under-insured motorist policy with minimum amount of $25,000($50,000 maximum)coverage. Uninsured/under-insured motorist coverage protects you if you are involved in an accident with someone who does not carry auto insurance or who does not have enough coverage to cover the entire costs of the accident. Personal Injury Protection( PIP) is also required of all New York drivers, with minimum amounts of $50,000 in coverage. PIP insurance. Personal injury protection can help cover medical expenses that are deemed “necessary” by the insurance company.
Insurance must be maintained at all times, and New York law allows for no exceptions to the state required auto insurance requirements. The auto insurance company is required by law to report any lapses in coverage or when your policy ends to the DMV. Proof of financial responsibility must be carried in the vehicle at all times. This is usually in the form of a letter or insurance card provided by your carrier.
If you can not prove financial responsibility or your coverage ends, serious penalties could result including fines, the suspension of your vehicle registration and driving privileges, and your vehicle being towed and impounded. New York is a no fault state, meaning that you are covered in an accident regardless of who caused the accident.